Wheat- All varieties including spelt, durum, semolina, graham, faro, emmer, einkorn, triticale and kamut. All forms including whole grains, berries, germs, brans, flours, sprouted wheat and fermented wheat.
Barley- All varieties and forms including malt vinegars, malted milk drinks and candies, brown rice syrup made with rice malt and beer. Rye
Safe, Gluten Free Grains
Amaranth Buckwheat Corn Millet Indian Rice Grass Quinoa Rice flours- White, Sweet or Sushi, Brown, Wild Rice Sorghum
Safe, Gluten Free Bean Flours
Fava bean chickpea. Sometimes this flour is called "gram" flour, not to be confused with "graham" flour, from wheat. Garfava (combination of chickpea and fava bean flours) Pea Romano (cranberry) Soy
Gluten free eating begins at the supermarket or health food store.
There are a lot of gluten free products available in supermarkets. Many of these are found in the health sections. Before you go shopping you can go online and search their sites for Gluten free products.
A great publication is available from Coeliac New Zealand for New Zealanders
If you or a family member requires a diet that is gluten free, the easiest way to stick to the plan is to only buy foods that are gluten free in the first place. If a forbidden food never makes it into your home, it can't make it onto your plate.
Here are a few ideas for stocking a gluten free pantry, so you always have the right foods on hand.
Your gluten free pantry starts with great grains. Make sure you stock several types of rice, quinoa, corn, gluten free pastas, cream of rice cereal, corn tortillas, buckwheat, millet, and quinoa or other gluten free flours.
Try to sock whole grains in your gluten free pantry. Using whole grains allows you to make a wide range of products, and prevents hidden gluten from slipping in undetected. Be wary of pre-made rice mixes or any convenience products that are not labeled Gluten Free. While the base grain may not contain gluten, the sauce might.
Fats & Oils:
Most oils like olive, coconut, and vegetable, are okay for your gluten free pantry. Be wary of prepared salad dressings and mayos, some contain thickeners that are gluten based. You should also avoid any gravy or sauce mix that is not specifically labeled “gluten free”. Most of these contain starches and thickeners as well.
Most canned fruits are great additions to your gluten free pantry. Look for canned single fruits that have been packed in real juice for the healthiest option. The exception is canned “pie filling” fruits, these are made to be poured directly into a pie crust, and almost always contain added starch.
Include canned vegetables in your gluten free pantry. As long as your veggies aren’t packaged with sauce or seasonings, you can use them. “Creamed” or sauced vegetables or baked beans usually contain gluten based starches, and should be avoided.
Most commercially prepared snacks contain gluten: fruit snacks, puddings, and most granola products are made with wheat flour or other gluten containing ingredients. Stock your pantry with snacks you make yourself, and gluten free cookies and rice based crackers.
As more people are opting for gluten free diets, either by choice or necessity, more gluten free items are becoming available in your supermarket store or health food store. Look for “certified gluten free” labels to be sure you are stocking your gluten free pantry with food items you can enjoy in a variety of ways.
Everyday gluten free foods
* Vegetables * Fruit * Seafood * Meat * Eggs * Dairy food (fresh and natural; check label for suspect additives) * Condiments: spices (check label), herbs, * Vinegrettes: Dressings made with healthy oils (olive oil is great) vinegars, lemon juice and herbs * Wheat free soy sauce * Creamy dressings: Home made mayonnaise or yoghurt dressing * Spreads: Tahini sesame paste, nut butters, honey, jam (check label), hummus, avocado * Grains and flours: brown rice, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, corn, tapioca * Carbohydrate rich vegetables: yams, potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, parsnip * Nuts and seeds